Welcome to the Canadian Prairie Pylon Racing Association (CPPRA) website. The CPPRA administers model airplane pylon racing in the prairie provinces in Canada and is also District 3 in the NMPRA.

Our district holds contests throughout the season in Calgary, Edmonton, Medicine Hat, and Saskatoon.These contests include racing in the Quickie 500 (AMA 426) and Quarter Midget 40 (AMA 422) classes. Some of our members represent Canada at championship events around the world.

2019 season comes to a close

posted Sep 16, 2019, 6:01 PM by Kevin Umbach   [ updated Sep 17, 2019, 7:06 AM ]

The 2019 CPPRA season finished with a Q500 doubleheader hosted by the Medicine Hat R/C Club.

Congratulations to Roy Andrassy for being this years top pilot for accumulating the most points in Q500 and Q40.

Calgary Pylon Race 2019

posted Jul 29, 2019, 7:56 PM by Kevin Umbach

The first contest of the season is now over. Thanks to the Calgary Miniature Pylon Racing Association club for hosting a well organized event. The top pilots of the weekend were:
Q500 ClassQ40 Class
1st. Kevin Umbach (St. Albert)1st. Doug Houston (Calgary)
2nd. Roy Andrassy (Calgary)2nd. Roy Andrassy (Calgary)
3rd. Hank Kauffmann (Calgary)3rd. Allan Umbach (St. Albert)

Calgary Contest Registration is Open

posted Jul 2, 2019, 11:31 AM by Kevin Umbach

Registration for the Calgary contest July 27 & 28, 2019 is now open. Get yourself registered and see you there! For full details, see the contest announcement.

Edmonton Race Cancelled

posted Jun 20, 2019, 6:36 PM by Kevin Umbach

Due to poor weather and field conditions, the race in Edmonton June 22-23, 2019 has been cancelled. Thanks to everyone who signed up to compete, it was shaping up to be a great kickoff to the season! 

Next race is in Calgary, July 27-28, 2019.

2018 End of Season

posted Sep 13, 2018, 4:05 PM by Kevin Umbach

The 2018 CPPRA season wound up in Saskatoon on September 8th, 2018. Thanks to the Hub City Radio Control Flyers for hosting the year end race, BBQ, and annual general meeting. 

The CPPRA Grand Champion is Roy Andrassy. The top pilots of 2018 were:

Q500 AMA 426Q40 AMA 422
1st. Roy Andrassy (Calgary)1st. Roy Andrassy (Calgary)
2nd. Randy Smith (Calgary)2nd. Hank Kauffmann (Calgary)
3rd. Kevin Umbach (St. Albert)3rd. Doug Houston (Calgary)

For the final season points total, see Q500 results and Q40 results.

Calgary Pylon Race 2018

posted Jul 24, 2018, 7:56 AM by Kevin Umbach

The second contest of the season was held in Calgary on July 21-22, 2018. The pilots battled windy flying conditions all weekend and the pilots that came out on top were:

Q500 ClassQ40 Class
1st. Roy Andrassy (Calgary)1st. Roy Andrassy (Calgary)
2nd. Randy Smith (Calgary)2nd. Kevin Moorehouse (Calgary)
3rd. Kevin Umbach (St. Albert)3rd. Cecil Graval (Calgary)

Thank you to Calgary Miniature Pylon Racing Association and their club members for hosting the race. Special thanks goes out to the Air Cadets, their commander, and parents for helping with the race judging. 

2018 Season Opener in Edmonton

posted Jun 25, 2018, 11:32 AM by Kevin Umbach   [ updated Jun 25, 2018, 11:40 AM ]

A R/C racing event featuring Q500 and Q40 racing classes was hosted by the Edmonton Radio Control Society on June 23-24, 2018. The weather cooperated and they were able to complete a full 8 rounds of racing each day. 

The top pilots of the weekend were:

Q500 ClassQ40 Class
1st. Roy Andrassy (Calgary)1st. Hank Kauffmann (Calgary)
2nd. Randy Smith (Calgary)2nd. Roy Andrassy (Calgary)
3rd. Kevin Umbach (St. Albert)3rd. Randy Smith (Calgary)

The event organizers would like to thank the Edmonton Radio Control Society for their support and the CPPRA members who attended the race. 

Edmonton Contest Registration

posted Jun 2, 2018, 7:39 PM by Kevin Umbach   [ updated Jun 2, 2018, 7:47 PM ]

The Edmonton Radio Control Society is hosting Q500 and Q40 racing on June 23 & 24, 2018. Contest registration is now open, see the registration page for more details and to sign up.


2017 CPPRA Season Finale

posted Sep 11, 2017, 7:41 PM by Kevin Umbach   [ updated May 7, 2018, 5:45 PM ]

The 2017 season ended in Medicine hat with a hot and windy two-day Q500 contest. Thanks to the Medicine Hat RC'ers club for hosting the event.

The final point standings have been tabulated and the top three pilots in Q500 are: 1st) Hank Kauffmann, 2nd) Ted Ellefson, and 3rd) Kevin Umbach. The top three pilots in Q40 are 1st) Roy Andrassy, 2nd) Jeff Martin, and 3rd) Henry Redekop. The grand champion this year is Roy Andrassy. 

Congratulations to all the CPPRA pilots and hosting R/C clubs for another fun and successful year.

Saskatoon Race 2017

posted Aug 29, 2017, 5:47 PM by Kevin Umbach   [ updated Aug 29, 2017, 6:22 PM ]

Wow what a great weekend of racing in Saskatoon! With temperatures hitting 30c and a light breeze it was a real scorcher. 

Your top pilots for the weekend in Q500 were 1st Randy Smith, 2nd Hank Kauffmann, 3rd Doug Houston, and in Q40, 1st Roy Andrassy, 2nd Doug Houston, and 3rd Ted Ellefson. We're all going to hear about this great Calgary sweep for a long long time. For more details see the Q500 and Q40 result pages.

New pilot Dave Eaton, with help from Harold Sattler and Chris Metlewsky, made his debut in the Q500 race class flying a very nice looking Kaze. Dave put in a great flying performance and you could see him improve every heat throughout the day. It's really great to see a new pilot come out and have a successful day racing. 

Thank you Hub City Radio Control Club for hosting a fantastic event!

1-10 of 74